Posted by: G. | February 11, 2008

Just scary

I’m very much pro culture, and I think we occidentals have no right to force our culture on no one’s life, but there also some traditions that just make me wonder, where’s the line between tradition, culture and pure stupidity? I do believe that this is one of the most unfair, barbaric, savage and stupid tradition that exists in the world, but even when most people do agree with me:  

“140 milhões de meninas e mulheres já foram submetidas à mutilação genital feminina” (“140 millions of girls and women have been submitted to feminine genital mutilation”)

This number in not just casual tradition, it’s almost female genocide and I know this is a strong word, but this is a strong and mean tradition that has to be stopped.


Responses

  1. I couldn’t agree more. It’s just barbarian and unacceptable.


Leave a comment

Categories